RSS Feed

Blogging

It has now been one month since I arrived in Beijing, and I can happily say that I’m pretty much settled; that is, I can see myself living here for the year, with the dust everywhere, the food, the bureaucracy, the frustration of not being able to communicate, the stares and the disbelieving looks I get when I reply ‘I am from England’ to all those who ask. I’m deeply grateful to friends and family for their constant support, and also to those technical experts who have conquered the Great Firewall, without whom I wouldn’t be writing this right now! Furthermore, thank you to all of you for your positive and encouraging comments!

Talking to a friend a few days ago made me think about why I wanted to start a blog for my year abroad in China. I know that I decided I wanted to after being inspired having read a couple of other blogs, and thinking that I’d like to record my own experiences somewhere. I could have done this without publishing online, but I wanted to share my time here with family and friends back home. That said, I realise that a big part of the reason is for myself, to have a record somewhere of what I did, thought, saw, learned, discovered and explored while in China. As my friend pointed out, sometimes it’s not always the biggest things that you think need to be recorded, like visiting popular tourist sites. Sometimes it’s the more mundane, everyday things you see, do and think that you might miss when you leave, and these might be the things that will make my time here unforgettable.

Writing about ALL of this is definitely very ambitious, and is also likely to make for tedious reading, but I’m certain that I want to try to write more often than I have been so far, so please pester me if I start slacking!

On another note, many of you may know about a group of islands that have recently sparked anti-Japan riots across China. The Senkaku Islands (Japanese), or the Diaoyu Islands (Chinese) are located in the East China Sea, northeast of Taiwan, and have been the subject of territorial dispute between China and Japan for many years. Underlying the recent riots, however, is not just the issue of the islands; many Chinese still harbour deep resentment at Japan for World War II, and these feelings have been reignited. Japanese students at my university were told to stay in and be careful, just as the Japanese embassy is advising their citizens in China to avoid demonstrations and not to draw attention to themselves.

Chinese nationalists’ anger runs so deep that I heard, for example, someone took their Toyota back to the dealership and set it alight. Many Japanese-made cars have also been vandalized and reports say that the possibility that the disputes could lead to actual military conflict is very real.

Although China’s economic growth has slowed recently, it is still a very important player in the global economy. If the dispute fails to be resolved, the consequences will not be limited to Asia; international trade would be affected and would delay the tentative global economic recovery.

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

One response »

  1. Very good and am pleased to see the progress you have made, keep it up and enjoy your stay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

