RSS Feed

The alleyway.

Just outside the building where I live, there’s an alleyway, with a host of small shops and stalls. I often go down there to buy my vegetables (cheaper and fresher than from the supermarket), talk to shopkeepers (it’s just two really, so far) and see random, interesting things. Pictures will probably be able to describe this much better than I would be able to with words, so here we go…

Casually chilling outside a pet(?) shop. The inside was full of plants..

Can you blame that top one for looking so bored? Awkward turtles.

My preferred vegetable stop.

He’s always smiling, and waits patiently while I examine what’s what. (I’m sure all the vegetables are different colours, shapes and sizes than I’m used to. I did accidentally manage to buy a cabbage the first time I tried to buy lettuce… Oops.)

Trying to teach me to play Chinese chess.

A live game of Mahjong, or as it’s really known as: 麻将(májiàng)

Don’t be fooled… It’s a lie!
“iPhones” are very popular here.

Other things I’ve been getting up to over the past few days include giving the collection of empty water bottles I’d been building to these water bottle recyclers, and trying Birthday Cake flavoured Oreos…

I think he appreciated it as he watched in surprise as I pulled out another and another and another bottle from my bag.

Bottle collectors.

Definitely better than green-tea Oreos

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

