RSS Feed

Who Jintao?

Just a bit of fun for you all – I came across a short skit online, click here to read it. (I did think of the title for this post before I found this though!)

Hu Jintao, the leader of the People’s Republic of China, will soon be replaced in the once-in-a-decade leadership transition, which, of course, takes place on my year abroad!

1st October in China is National Day, a hugely important festival which comes with a one week holiday – Golden Week. The party congress was also supposed to be meeting soon afterwards, but has been postponed to early November because of a political scandal concerning Bo Xilai (I’m not even going to try and go in to that). At the party congress, Hu Jintao will be stepping down (after 10years!) and most likely being replaced by Xi Jinping.

Moving away from the politics, however… Public places in Beijing are decorated for National Day, I heard that there was a huge flowerpot in Tian’anmen Square, and seeing as I won’t be around for the next National Day (and also because I saw this picture), I decided I’d go along with a friend to see them. Sadly, it was kinda dark by the time we got there after classes, and we couldn’t get onto the Square itself because it was closed.. The flag-lowering was to take place just after 6pm; it seems we just missed being allowed onto the Square.

My pictures are in no way a a good representation of how awesome I’m sure the flowers could really have looked, but do bear in mind, that, a) It was dark, b) We were on the other side of the road and c) …I’m just no good with a camera!

Flowers

Tian’anmen, the Gate of Heavenly Peace

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

One response »

  1. I guess some things are just too good to capture and photographs don’t do justice. Cherish the memories. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

