RSS Feed

Tunnel of the Century

Posted on

Going through some pictures of Shanghai, I decided it might be easier to focus on a couple of things about my trip as I come across pictures. (Not to mention, trying to think of everything to put in one post seems like a bit of a chore..)

In Century Park, which was my favourite in Shanghai, mostly because as I mentioned you’re standing in a really nice park, with the city all around you, but also because we impulsively decided to go on the rides in the small amusement park we found and stray from our pretty full plan for the day. (Small means there was a grand total of 3 rides)

An interesting thing about the park was this tunnel we came across:

It’s possible the picture doesn’t show so clearly what’s going on, so let’s zoom in on the activity in and around this tunnel:

What could he possibly looking at with such interest?

One more time, then:

If it’s still not clear, the guy in the picture above is browsing potential spouses. Indeed, we dubbed this ‘the matchmaking tunnel’. In front of every collection of potential partners, was sat an…’agent’. I assume they were just the middle person – the matchmaker responsible for getting their clients partnered up.

To give an idea of the kind of information included, I’ve chosen one from the selection above, and here’s what I got: (Bear in mind, the information is all in short-hand, so I’ve tried to translate and make sense of it as best I can)

A Hunan male, born in ’85. Height: 1.74m, college/university education, Sales director, has a house in his hometown, and it’s also possible to buy a house together in Shanghai. Looking for: born after ’87, height above 1.6om, virtuous. Hunan, Jiangsu, Zhejiang and Shanghai women take precedence.

Contact details given include mobile number and QQ number. (QQ is China’s instant messaging programme).

In contrast, another one has a Shanghai male, born in ’78, at 1.71m, who after outlining his job (owns his own business, in “logistics and foreign trade”) monthly wage (more than 20,000 yuan), the fact that he has a house in Yangpu, and that he is divorced, without children, sets out his criteria for a Shanghai woman between 4 and 10 years his junior, with formal schooling. Her income is irrelevant, she should not be a single parent (I think), preferably has a house,  size is irrelevant (I’m not clear on whether he means size of the house or of the woman), fair skin, regular (handsome) features, and unmarried.

Needless to say, there were a lot of wannabe mother-in-laws scouting this hunting ground.

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

