RSS Feed

Eid Mubarak! (Belated)

Posted on

Eid greetings from Beijing!

I know I’m pretty much a week late, but I was kept busy by a surprise Eid present…

Totally unexpectedly, my parents showed up in Beijing last Friday to surprise me; my weekend was suddenly full and routine went out the window (I mean this in a positive sense, not having to cook for a few days is never a bad thing!)

As my parents teased, “you should thank us for coming, at least it means you did all this tourist-y stuff!” – and indeed, they are right. On arrival in Beijing, getting straight into sightseeing was the least of my worries, settling in was top priority. But the weather back then was the perfect time to go; attempts at planning trips with friends now is often concluded by: Let’s put that off for when the weather gets warmer again…

Of course, at this rate, we’ll have more trips postponed, and more places to go than days available by the time the weather does get warmer.

But I can gladly say that I’ve now seen all the 9999.5 identical rooms of the Forbidden City, (okay, maybe not quite ALL of them, but seeing one is enough to know what the others are like!), been to the Great Wall, and had fun haggling with the somewhat rude sellers of the Silk Market, which is definitely worth a visit if just to hear their selling techniques!! Hilarious…

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

3 responses »

  1. 哈哈哈。:)))) It’s surprised that your parents showed up in Bejing!! You must be very excited…How are you recently? I’ve got so busy when starting classes!! so much work to do!!! I also found Economics was really hard, I have to study both Micro and Macro T^T but tell you one exciting thing haha I’ll go to Spain in Christmas holiday!!hahaha How long will your parents stay with you? Have you become more comfortable about life in Beijing? :)))))

    Reply
    • 我最近也很忙因为我跟我的父母去看看北京的有名的地方。 他们只停留了6天。
      哈哈我现在感觉在北京熟悉。但是我的期中考试快来了-需要好好学习。
      西班牙很好玩,你去北边还是南边啊?:D

      Reply
      • 哈哈。我也不知道是北边还是南边。去两个城市,马德里(Madrid)和巴塞罗那(Barcelona):)))))) 加油!!

Leave a Reply

