RSS Feed

Chinglish (Official launch)

Ni hao, readers and reader-esses!

Some exciting news!! Exciting for me that is… my WordPress stats tell me that there’ve been 1,000 views!!

And for that, you all get a treat 🙂

I’d been meaning to start this for a while, but the 1,000 milestone motivated me to just do it.

So, Chinese English, aka Chinglish.

One of the things I will definitely miss seeing relatively commonly in China, is the excellent translations from Chinese into English, or just the general usage of English, because frankly, if your T-shirt says something in English, no matter what it is or whether it makes any sense at all, you’re super cool. That’s just the way it is. Don’t even expect the letters to make a word… If you didn’t know English, you’d never know that it’s just gibberish. Also, word-to-word, literal translations from Chinese into English – I hope they never cease to amuse.

They’re not all laugh-out-loud hilarious, but I do think a whole category needs to be devoted to Chinglish, and I’ll occasionally post about various ones I’ve come across, or write about them for your amusement.

The one you’re all getting today kinda goes against the definition I gave of Chinglish, as it’s not to do with translation at all, but it made me laugh, and just can’t fit anywhere but the Chinglish category.

Enjoy!

Show me the money!

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

