RSS Feed

For when you’re tired

Posted on

By some lucky coincidence, it so happens that the three of us with Indian backgrounds from uni back home all got put in the same class. So when the word 疲劳 píláo came up recently in class, you know which faces turned to seek out each other in the classroom, and who were those students that started sniggering. The meaning of the word is tired, fatigued, weary, but I don’t think I can ever scribble out this connection in my mind with Pilau* rice now that I’ve heard it. I never had a favourite Chinese word, but I do now! Man, pilau is definitely something I could do with when I’m tired… so appropriate, don’t you agree??

* For those unfortunate enough not to know what pilau is, it’s a popular Indian rice dish. Okay, admittedly, it’s not only Indian, it also exists in Persian cuisine, and particularly in the -stan countries, which, being neighbours of Xinjiang, China, means that it also features there, typically made with carrots and meat. Spellings may vary.

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

