RSS Feed

I’m British. Let’s talk about the weather.

After the hot hot summer months in Beijing, and the pleasant Autumn weather, I, for one, welcomed the weather change when it started to get colder. As I told friends and classmates, I thought it was ‘refreshing’. They teased me for my stupidity and laughed it off. When it started to get colder still, and we had our first signs of snow, I was like an excited puppy child (because there’re enough dogs in Beijing), walking to uni with a spring in my step, wrapped up and ready to face the cold. This time, they made no attempt to hide the fact that they definitely thought I had lost my mind. I countered with the fact that I…really liked wearing jumpers. *raised eyebrows* “Yep, definitely weird, that one.”.

However, while I don’t take any of what I just said above back, IT IS FREEZING IN BEIJING RIGHT NOW!

We’re currently enjoying highs of -8°C and lows of -20°C. Last night was around -20°C, which is bearable because it’s night time. This morning was around -14°C, which is just too cold to be walking around outside in. Actually, maybe I’ve gotten used to it, because it doesn’t feel as cold as it sounds. Usually. But, to compensate for your body not feeling so cold, your face more than makes up for it. Forget about that kind of cold, usually accompanied by strong winds, that stings your face. Forget about just not being able to feel, this is the type of cold where you can actually feel your face stiffening up as it slowly freezes. And the pain that comes with a frozen face…well, in case this description isn’t doing a good job, I’ll have you know – it isn’t nice. Not at all.

On a happier note, it’s Christmas tomorrow! And we’re all celebrating by going to uni! Yay!

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

