RSS Feed

Labour away on my Labour Day Holiday

Posted on

Recently, maybe it’s because I’m becoming increasingly aware of how fast time is going and how quickly that means my time in China is coming to an end, I keep being hit with the realisation that I’m in China! It sounds stupid when I say it like that, but obviously I don’t mean it in the sense that I’ve been unaware of this fact for the past 8months, but it’s simply the case that too often I forget what an amazing opportunity I’m living (excuse the cheese).

This has been happening to me a lot more often recently, it could be the change in weather, which seems to be having a positive effect on everyone’s mood.
The fluff I mentioned that was floating around everywhere is apparently just pollen. I’ve just never seen so much of it like this before. I tried to get some pictures on campus today, but I can only actually see the pollen when I zoom in on the pictures, despite them actually being really quite big. (If anyone has the time and effort to click on the pictures and zoom in, you’ll be able to see pixelated fluff)

Only faintly visible in this picture, though you can see it a little on the ground.

k

Gust of wind: seconds later all the pollen was swept over and around my feet.

Walking

Feels like walking in the clouds…

Tough luck, hayfever sufferers!!

Also, I now get to look forward to a five-day weekend. Labour Day, or as I like to think of it simply as the May Bank Holiday, means we get Monday, Tuesday AND Wednesday off uni. I’d wanted to go somewhere, take the opportunity to travel, but long story short, I’m going to be staying in Beijing, and hopefully trying to get a good part of my project written. I don’t think I’ve mentioned my project before, probably because it didn’t seem so pressing when there was still a couple of months left until the deadline, but now that we have just over a month to get it done, and SOAS have been sending us reminders of how we should be ‘well into our research projects by now’, it’s probably a good time to start… Especially given that it’s supposedly a project we are to complete on our year abroad, and not just in the final month. :p

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

6 responses »

  1. Woah so much pollen!

    Your year is China is a huge accomplishment and an amazing life experience- I hope you continue to enjoy the time left 🙂

    As for the project, leaving it to the end is the student way and who are we to break trends?! 😛

    Reply
  2. Wow that’s a lot of pollen! That’s such an amazing experience to have lives in China for year! Good luck with your project have you started it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

