RSS Feed

Surely, we belong to Allah, and to him we return

Posted on

Bad news. Sometimes it’s easier to ignore it, forget it, pretend it’s not meant for you. After all, these things never happen to you. Then reality comes crashing down, of times gone, memories shared.

Losing someone is never easy. Especially when that someone has been such a big part of your life, whose remembrance brings only happy memories, whose absence you can’t imagine.

I know there are people who this has hit harder, for whom it is harder to bear, who are grieving worse than I. I can’t even begin to express how sorry I am. My thoughts and prayers are with you all.

Words cannot describe my feelings at this time. But I didn’t want to let this pass by, go unmentioned, and give the false impression that being thousands of miles away somehow makes it okay. No. I will forever associate this painful tragedy with my year abroad.

As unbelievable as it seems while the wound is fresh, time is a healer. While he will never be forgotten, it will eventually become less painful to be reminded of him, to be reminded of the memories we all have of him. A future without him will begin to look less bleak, because although he may no longer be physically with us, we’ll come to realise that his memory will forever live on in our hearts – He was a part of my life, and I just thank God I got to be a part of his. I know that he would want us all to stay strong, patient, and try to remain positive, for that is just the kind of person he was. With that in mind, while I will never ever forget him, and the part he has played in my life, I know that he would have still wanted me to make the most of my time left here, and despite how difficult this may be, I intend to try and do so.

It’s painful to say goodbye to someone when you don’t want them to go, but it’s more painful to ask someone to stay when you know they really want to go.

His suffering has ended and he has moved on to a better place; let us stay strong and patient in the knowledge that this is true.

I pray to Allah (God) to grant him eternal peace and a place in Jannat (Paradise).

You will forever be in my prayers, kaka.
In loving memory.

For my ‘kaka’, who left this world on Thursday 2nd May, 2013.

إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعونَ
Surely, we belong to Allah, and to him we return.
[2:156]

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

2 responses »

  1. I heard about this. I’m so sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with your family.

    Reply
  2. My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family. May Allah (swt) grant him Jannatul firdous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

