RSS Feed

The Bird’s Nest

Posted on

A long, long time ago, in a land far away…

We went to Beijing’s Olympic Stadium, aka The Bird’s Nest.

This is why it is called the Bird’s Nest:

j

One of the few aesthetically-pleasing sights in Beijing

d

Detail of the exterior

j

My kite will go on

These kite things are pretty cool when you’re actually there to see them; they just go on and on and on… And they’re surprisingly ‘heavier’ to keep hold of than they look. Beijing’s wind can get very strong! In fact, today was extremely windy. Outside were lots of fallen branches, and inside, all I could hear through the flat was the sound of wind trying to blow the door down.

Back on topic, the stadium has a capacity of 80,000, and being inside reminded me of being inside Old Trafford Stadium (that was a fun road-trip, eh? You know who you are 🙂 ).

l

Somewhere near the top

ppj

Somewhere near the bottom

k

Some Olympic-torch bearing, colourful dress wearing, running women outside the stadium

It was a bit of a grey day that particular day:

The three of us before we went in

The three of us before we went in

And unfortunately, it began pouring down…

The three of us

The three of us after we came out

We were taking shelter from the rain under one of the few covered areas at very-far-apart intervals down the side of the very-long-and-completely-open-to-the-elements walkway back towards the metro station.
There is a Chinese idiom that describes the above picture perfectly, in my opinion. 落汤鸡 luo tang ji = literally, like a drenched chicken, aka SOAKED THROUGH.

This brings me to the Water Cube.

Isn't that just so smart?!

Isn’t that just so smart?!

The above was a picture I took of a floor tile, inside the Water Cube, the colloquial name for the Beijing National Aquatics Centre, which is built alongside the Bird’s Nest.

Olympic Pool

Olympic Pool

j

The diving pool

It was all beautifully blue inside, and I really liked it. Admittedly, I don’t remember watching much of the Beijing Olympics (or much of any of the Olympics for that matter… >_> ) but imagining that records were broken in the stadium and pool I was in on that day is pretty exciting!
There was also a little scene out of London inside the Water Cube, which I posted pictures of recently.

jk

A sign on the door on the train… Nice.

Last week, I saw a station on the subway called Biomedical Base. Doesn’t that just sound so suspicious? I imagine some undercover experiments going down, with other branches around Beijing.

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

