RSS Feed

A room with a view

Posted on

Earlier today, as I sat trying to study, there was SO much noise, it was difficult to concentrate. I’ve never mentioned before how annoying this can get (because it’s really only annoying when you’re trying to study, which clearly isn’t a very common occurrence..), but across the road from me, behind the first block of flats, is a school. A primary school.

Early in the morning, while I’m usually still sleeping, there are voices shouting orders into megaphones. Probably for various exercises, or something, because following that, the numbers are screamed into the megaphone. And the kids scream them back. Twice as loud. If you go to look out of the big window at the end of our flat, from which we can see the school’s field, you’ll see the children standing in orderly lines, in a very militant fashion.

This usually repeats again in the afternoon. I went to take a picture for this post.

L

If there were more kids in a horizontal straight line in the middle, someone above might almost mistake them for a helipad…

It didn’t help that on top of the screaming kids and their teacher’s megaphone, all the cars on the road outside started hooting. One single taxi had stopped temporarily in the middle of the road (to let someone out?), and created a queue of at least 15 cars behind it.

mj

From our window, the taxi (dark car) on the far left had just started moving again when I took this picture. There were more cars behind it than my camera could capture. The school field is just behind the building opposite.

I get that you’re all in a rush, but each of you hooting simultaneously, one after the other and twice every second (i.e. in total chaos) isn’t gonna get you any further. Please, be considerate. Some of us are trying to work!

HOWEVER, sometimesit’s kinda nice to see the kids outside. Something I particularly like is how I feel like I’ve seen that field change through the seasons. Well, I have really. See for yourself:

h

DSCF0143

DSCF1538

DSCF1231

The kids aren’t screaming away at night time, but the hooting never stops….

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

One response »

  1. My first reaction was: why don’t they have PE kits? Fail lol.
    You could put some headphones on and blast something…though that might be distracting too.
    Best of luck with the studying 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

