RSS Feed

Mayans, Mexicans, and many moons

So I’m currently on holiday in Mexico with the family. We left London on Saturday and arrived in Cancun the same night.
Here’s a short summary of what I’ve been getting up to and my thoughts so far.

Sunday
At around 8am, we left the resort to go to an old Mayan city called Tulum where we saw the remaining ruins of the High Priest’s Palace, temples of the ‘descending god’ and a castle overlooking the sea. The views of the beach were absolutely stunning and a really big iguana crawled right up to the rock I was sitting on at the beach!

wpid-IMG_20140216_162953.jpg

wpid-IMG_20140216_165507.jpg

We also saw The Flying Indians (voladores) at Tulum: atop a tall pole sat four costumed Indians, though really it was more precarious perching than sitting. They were recreating a ceremonial ritual which involved some music and a little dance performed in each of the cardinal directions by another at the bottom of the pole. After this, those at the top attached ropes to their legs and dangling from them, came swinging around the pole, upside down!

wpid-IMG_20140216_175216.jpg

wpid-IMG_20140216_180258.jpg

I’ve discovered a new appreciation for how beautiful the moon and sun can look. While having dinner on the Moonlight Terrace, I saw a red circle low in the sky, floating above the ocean, its glow creating a sliver of light on the sea below.

wpid-IMG_20140217_013204.jpg

Monday
This morning I had my first of two treatments at the spa. Having arrived earlier than the appointment time, we were allowed to use the facilities, which included a sauna, steam room, foot spa, jacuzzi and a cold pool (if that’s what they’re called). It was the first time I’ve been to a spa, and with my hibiscus drink in hand, I made the innocent mistake of going in the jacuzzi first… I didn’t make it out until it was time for my treatment.

After lunch I didn’t fancy getting in the pool, with my skin feeling all good, so I lounged around the pool for a while, and then went for a long walk on the beach where we discovered the kayaks, which occupied us for the next hour or so.

On Monday night was the Mexican themed dinner. There was live Mexican music, a dancing troupe, a fireworks display, and a donkey had been brought in…

wpid-IMG_20140218_012522-1.jpg

Again, I was left speechless by the moon. My phone camera has not done an awful job of capturing it, but naturally it’s never going to be as good as the actual view.

wpid-IMG_20140218_031359.jpg

¡Adiós amigos!

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

2 responses »

  1. It’s so good to see you blogging again! The moon looks gorgeous and the guy on top of the pole is BRAVE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

