RSS Feed

Jet lag struggles

Sunday 6th September, 23:40

After falling asleep toward the end of the opening ceremony this morning, all the students gathered around the board with the class lists, just as you’d see in movies when exam results are published for all to see…

image

Opening ceremony

Most of the rest of the day was spent helping a new friend buy a SIM card, and encountering all sorts of problems along the way for buying my own. There was a silver lining moment though while waiting in the queue in one of the stores, when a random man pointed out that being able to resolve such issues in Chinese meant that my language level was decently high. Despite not having resolved the issues yet, he made me aware of my progress: the last time I was in China, I would not have been able to discuss network and phone-related issues with Chinese workers/salespeople as easily as I was doing today.

Tomorrow’s missions: buy a godd*mn SIM card, and open a bank account.

Tomorrow is also the first day of classes. Stay tuned.

An aside: This blog was never meant to be only about my travels, so bear with the negative beginnings. I’m confident that within a few weeks (less, I hope!), I will be absolutely fine, and ready to absorb whatever experiences I can, but for now, thinking about a whole year without family, friends from back home, home food, and other facilities we’re accustomed to, can make one feel lonely and somewhat dejected about the year ahead.
The method I used last time worked well enough though: taking it day by day, and not thinking about the prospect of a whole year gets you comfortable much quicker.

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

