RSS Feed

Mid-Autumn Festival

Posted on

Tuesday 29th September 2015, 1am

I promised myself I would write today, because it’s been too long.

Yesterday (Sunday) was the Mid-Autumn Festival, when the moon is meant to be at its fullest and brightest in the whole year (this coincided with the supermoon phenomenon in other parts of the world). Traditional foods eaten in China are mooncakes, which we gathered to eat on Sunday night, and appreciate the moon in a relatively clear Shanghai sky.

On Saturday evening, I happened to be in Wujiaochang (an area full of shops/malls/’plazas’ and a funny UFO type roundabout thing, just a 10minute bus ride from campus), where Chinese couples danced to beautiful music under the moon. It was quite a charming scene, amid the UFO lights in the background.

The spaceship at Wujiaochang

The spaceship at Wujiaochang

 

wpid-img_20150926_201151.jpg

Evening dances

wpid-img_20150926_201533.jpg

wpid-img_20150926_200755.jpg

wpid-img_20150926_200801.jpg

wpid-img_20150926_201155.jpg

wpid-img_20150916_190756.jpg

Wujiaochang is kinda fancy

 

I also took an opportunity to capture the fashion craze that has swept China. I personally don’t see why grown women, nor men for that matter, feel that this is a good look, but what do I know about fashion?
It’s considered fashionable to clip shoots to your hair, as in this picture:

"Oh I wish I was a punkrocker with flowers in my hair"

“Oh I wish I was a punkrocker with flowers in my hair”

 

I asked her if I could take her picture, she agreed, and then wanted to take a selfie with me. There are so many different types of clips; my favourite is probably the mushroom…. -_-

wpid-img_20150926_200551.jpg

More often than not, they just sport one in the middle of their head. Reminds me of a Teletubby...

More often than not, they just sport one in the middle of their head. Reminds me of a Teletubby…

This week is also the start of the October National Week holiday; we have regular classes until Wednesday and then we are off from the 1st to the 7th, resuming classes on the 8th, and even compensating by having classes next Saturday. I fail to understand why we are meant to make up classes for a national holiday – they can’t declare a public holiday and then punish us by making us attend class on Saturday too – but I’m sure China has a sensible reason somewhere….

Night for now, Shanghai.

晚安。

About Ibtehaal

I graduated with a degree in Chinese and Economics, which involved spending a year studying Chinese in Beijing. This turned out to be the hardest but most rewarding thing I think I have ever done. I've now returned to China for another year, to study in Shanghai and figure out my next steps.

Leave a Reply

